Iowa Specialty Hospital

ISH Staff Receive Awards at Accountable Care Symposium

January 11, 2018

Over 600 attendees gathered in Phoenix for the second annual Caravan Health Accountable Care Symposium on December 6-7, 2017. This year’s event featured thought leaders, industry experts, panel discussions and breakout sessions that addressed the most pressing concerns of health system leaders today.

The symposium included the presentation of the Caravan Health Population Health Pioneer Awards. This was an opportunity to honor healthcare organizations and individuals who transcended quality of care in 2017.

“Our ACO partners achieved more than $26 million in savings in 2016 and more than 90 percent are on track to reduce spending in 2017,” said Lynn Barr, Caravan Health chief executive officer. “The Population Health Pioneer Awards Ceremony is an opportunity to recognize the outstanding achievements of our participants, and to say thank you for their dedication to improving care in their communities.”

Three Iowa Specialty Hospital staff members received individual awards at the event.  Amy McDaniel was named ACO Board Chair of the Year; Michael Hurt, MD was named ACO Medical Director Champion; and Renee Diamond, MD was honored for Outstanding Physician Leadership – Transforming Clinical Practice Initiative (TCPI).

“We are very proud to have partnered with Caravan Health to not only reduce the cost of healthcare but also to improve the lives of the patients we serve,” said Iowa Specialty Hospital-Belmond CEO Amy McDaniel.  “They are an outstanding organization and together we are changing the face of health care.”

“Awards for our local leaders confirm what I know by experience to be true,” said Dr. Renee Diamond.  “Dr. Michael Hurt, CMO and Amy McDaniel, CEO are keeping Iowa Specialty Hospital at the front lines in an era of unprecedented industry change. Their presence in this national ACO ultimately ensures that your community hospital will be here for serve for generations to come!"

For more information about the Caravan Health Accountable Care Symposium, visit

« Back

© 2024 Iowa Specialty Hospital. All rights reserved.