Iowa Specialty Hospital

Iowa Specialty Hospital-Clarion Receives Healthgrades Patient Safety Excellence and Outstanding Patient Experience Awards

March 20, 2023

News Item Image

Iowa Specialty Hospital-Clarion is the recent recipient of the 2023 Healthgrades Patient Safety Excellence Award as well as the 2023 Healthgrades Outstanding Patient Experience Award.  According to Healthgrades, Iowa Specialty Hospital-Clarion was among 445 hospitals across 45 states who received the patient safety award, and was among 419 hospitals across 47 states who received the patient experience award.  Only 83 hospitals in the nation received both of these awards.

Hospitals receiving the Patient Safety Excellence Award were in the top 10 percent of hospitals based on 14 patient safety indicators from inpatient MedPAR data, including inpatient falls, pressure sores/bed sores, catheter-related infections, and more.

For the Outstanding Patient Experience Award, Healthgrades compared Hospital Consumer Assessment of Healthcare Providers and Systems data from 2021. This data analysis showed three patient experience ratings that best predicted whether a patient would recommend the hospital to others: physician communication; nurse communication; and clear communication about care when discharged.

“We are always honored to be recognized for the exceptional healthcare our providers and staff provide each and every day,” says Steve Simonin, president and chief executive officer of Iowa Specialty Hospital. “We’re proud to receive these awards and will continue to provide our patients with the safe and specialized care they deserve."

« Back

© 2024 Iowa Specialty Hospital. All rights reserved.