Iowa Specialty Hospital

Accreditations & Distinctions

DNV Accredited Hospital 

DNV Accredited Hospital logoIowa Specialty Hospital has a quality-based national accreditation from DNV GL Healthcare based on its dedication to exceptional patient care and safety at both Belmond and Clarion campuses. This accreditation is proof of the long-term commitment the providers, staff, and administration have made to patient safety, clinical excellence, and overall quality of care.

To achieve and maintain this accreditation, Iowa Specialty Hospital evaluates the continuum of patient care throughout its facilities and takes measured steps to improve when it is warranted.

For more information about DNV GL Accreditation, please click the link below.


2022 Reaccreditation


ISO 9001:2008 Certification

In August 2017, Iowa Specialty Hospital Belmond and Clarion were notified that they successfully completed certification in ISO 9001:2008. ISO (International Organization for Standardization), is an independent, non- governmental organization  ISO 9001 standardthat is the world’s largest developer of voluntary international standards that aids in the creation of safe, reliable, and high quality business practices. It is part of the DNV-GL program progression that signifies the organizations operational success.  

Iowa Specialty Hospital is accredited by DNV-GL, and now is also ISO certified in Healthcare Management. This means that Iowa Specialty Hospital through its quality management system, has met specific requirements and standards that demonstrate its commitment to consistency, continual improvement, patient satisfaction, and a culture of high performance. This gives a clear demonstration to patients, communities, and other stakeholders that Iowa Specialty Hospital not only has an effective quality management system, but that it provides safe, patient centered, care and has high expectations for staff, as well as outside contractors and vendors.


Metabolic and Bariatric Center of Excellence Accreditation

MBSAQIP Accredited Center logoIowa Specialty Hospital in Belmond, through its partner has been named a Center of Excellence from from the Metabolic and Bariatric Surgery Accreditation and Quality Improvement Program (MBSAQIP).  MBSAQIP is a joint program from The American College of Surgeons (ACS) and the American Society for Metabolic and Bariatric Surgery (ASMBS) to advance the care of bariatric patients and ensure accredited surgical centers are providing the highest standards for all patients.  

Iowa Specialty Hospital partners with Iowa Weight Loss Specialists to provide bariatric surgery.

For more information about MBSAQIP, please click the link below.





Wellmark® Blue Cross® and Blue Shield® Blue Distinction® Center

Wellmark Iowa designated BlueDistinction Center logoWellmark® Blue Cross® and Blue Shield® has recognized Iowa Specialty Hospital in Belmond to receive a Blue Distinction® Center+ designation in the area of bariatric surgery by the Blue Distinction® Centers for Specialty Care program. Blue Distinction® Centers are nationally designated health care facilities shown to deliver quality specialty care based on objective measures, which were developed with input from the medical community, for patient safety and better health outcomes.  
To receive a Blue Distinction Center+ for Bariatric Surgery designation, a healthcare facility must demonstrate success in meeting patient safety, as well as bariatric-specific quality measures, including complications and readmissions, for gastric stapling and/or gastric banding procedures. A health care facility must also have earned national accreditations at both the facility level and the specific bariatric care level, as well as demonstrate better cost efficiency relative to its peers.
Iowa Specialty Hospital partners with Iowa Weight Loss Specialists to provide bariatric surgery.
For more information about Wellmark® Blue Cross® and Blue Shield® Blue Distinction® Centers, please click the link below.
© 2023 Iowa Specialty Hospital. All rights reserved.